I did not read any of Mitchell David Albom’s earlier books and I am glad I picked this first. It is a beautiful novel with a great concept to deal with the obvious – how we take people, particularly mothers for granted and yet the treatment was so appealing!! There are so many wow factors in this book that I might just go overboard highlighting them in this review.

The moments captured from Charles ‘Chick’ Benetto’s life, were so real and believable that it really haunts the reader even after the book is over. I simply loved the way Mitch listed how many times Chick’s mother stood for him and the times he let her down, the guilt and remorse he had to live with and how that one more day, conversing with his mother streamlines so many things in his life.

The plot is engaging. Being unwanted at his only daughter’s wedding was the first thing that hit me, staggering back to his old house after a suicide attempt to discover his mother who died years back was still living there, as if nothing had happened, created enough turmoil in my mind.

Chick’s mother’s notes to him on his first day to school, on his wedding reflected concern, warmth and was much in contrast with his father’s single minded ambition for him – Baseball. He was torn between pleasing his father and ignoring his mother’s aspiration for him.

With just one more day with her, Chick learns things he never knew before about his mother and her sacrifices, how her tenderness years after she was gone, actually helped him put his life back together

Simple chapters, titles hinting at the content and the sections labeled as Midnight, Morning, Noon, Night describing each time of that one day and their little visits – Mother and son – knowing, learning, believing and most important living again, leaves a powerful impact.

There are management books out there that could teach you a thousand things, spiritual books could make you better person. This book is no less – How just one more day with a lost loved one can make a huge difference in your attitude towards life and people.

Today , on my way to office, when I had just a few pages left to read, I realized I had choked enough number of times, just remembering how many times I acted funny with my mother. I told her about this book when I reached home – my perspectives as a reader, a writer and an eternal student of life.

I had called her from office today just like that. I offer to keep some old songs ready every morning for her to play when I am gone to office, I pass a cushion to her while she is watching TV, offer to chop onions when she is preparing dinner

‘Mitch did teach a thing, didn’t he?’ Mothers just know it.

